Michele Allen holding award plaque
Michele Allen, MD, MS, CTSI's 2017 Mentor of the Year awardee

Nominate faculty, trainee research mentors for CTSI’s Mentor of the Year awards

CTSI is seeking nominations for its annual Mentor of the Year awards program that recognizes University of Minnesota research mentors, junior mentors, and biostatistician mentors of any current or past CTSI Research Education, Training, and Career Development (CTSI-Ed) Scholar.

Current or past Scholars from CTSI-Ed’s six faculty and trainee career development programs are welcome to submit nominations by Thursday, August 23 for the:

  • Mentor of the Year
  • Outstanding Junior Mentor of the Year
  • CTSI Biostatistician Mentor of the Year

The awards recognize research mentors who guide trainees’ research, motivate and serve as a role model, promote research career development, and advocate for trainees.

Nominations will be reviewed and awardees will be selected by a CTSI committee chaired by Drs. Esam El-Fakahany and Anne Marie Weber-Main, co-directors of CTSI’s mentoring program.

Award winners will be announced at the CTSI Annual Poster Session Sept. 12, 2018 at Surly Brewing Co., and will receive discretionary funds (Mentor of the Year receives $1,500, all others receive $500) and a commemorative plaque.

Previous awardees include: Michele Allen, MD, John Connett, PhD, Reena Kartha, PhD, Christine Wendt, MD; James Cloyd, III, PharmD; Kelvin O. Lim, MD; Carol Lange, PhD; Betsy Seaquist, MD; Lisa Coles, MS, PhD; Rebecca Shlafer, PhD, MPH; Alicia Allen, PhD; Kyle Rudser, PhD; and Lynn Eberly, PhD.

Submit primary and secondary nomination letters to CTSI-Ed by August 23