T32 scholars and Jayne Fulkerson

Major grants received for CTSI T32 Program

The CTSI T32 Program has received two major grants from the National Institutes of Health. These are five-year awards amounting to more than $4 million total.These awards are linked to the $53.9 million in CTSA funding CTSI received in…
Collage of TRDP scholars

Five pre- and post-doctoral scholars join CTSI’s Translational Research Development Program

On July 1, 2024, five talented predoctoral and postdoctoral scholars will join the CTSI Translational Research Development Program and begin a rigorous two-year program of mentored research coupled with professional and career…
Collage of KAP and KR01 scholars

CTSI welcomes new scholars to early-career faculty training programs

CTSI welcomes six new scholars to two early-career faculty training programs that are offered through CTSI’s Research Education, Training, and Career Development team (CTSI-Ed). The scholars represent a range of University of…
Collage of PReP participants

Twenty-six students join CTSI's summer research training programs

CTSI welcomes 11 undergraduate and 15 graduate and professional health sciences students to its 2024 PReP and A-PReP summer research training programs.
Collage of Project REACH cohort

Announcing the Project REACH 2024-25 cohort

Six community leaders from rural Minnesota have been selected as the 2024-2025 cohort for Project REACH (Rural Experts Advancing Community Health), a joint initiative of the University of Minnesota Rural Health Program through the Office…
bottle of metformin and carolyn bramante

Study from former KL2 scholar finds metformin reduces COVID-19 viral load, viral rebound

A team of University of Minnesota researchers found that metformin, a drug commonly used to treat diabetes, can decrease the amount of COVID-19 virus in the body and lower the chances of the virus coming back strongly after initial…
illustration of group of people

Training module on equity-grounded community-engaged research now available

People interested in forging high-impact community-academic research partnerships have a new, free training module designed to help them do just that. The module, “Building a foundation for community-engaged research,” focuses on what…
MLS 2023 retreat

Mothers Leading Science continues to build and inspire a network of leaders

How do you sustain momentum and create an ever-expanding network of institutional changemakers over the long haul? This was top of mind for the leaders of the CTSI Mothers Leading Science (MLS) program when they designed the program in the…
K12 scholars attending a seminar

CTSI receives funding for K12 career development program

CTSI has received additional funding from the National Institutes of Health for its K12 Scholars Career Development Program. It’s a five-year award amounting to more than $5.3 million.
Casey Dorr, PhD

Making the most out of a summer research program

Every year since 2012, the Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI) has offered two summer training programs.