Jayne Fulkerson, David Ingbar, Michelle Lamere, and Megan Larson

CTSI-Ed updates: Co-directors and staff promotions

Michelle Hoedeman

CTSI is pleased to share that some of its faculty and staff within CTSI’s Research Education, Training, and Career Development (CTSI-Ed) team are taking on expanded responsibilities.

Effective June 1, CTSI-Ed is being co-directed by David Ingbar, MD, and Jayne Fulkerson, PhD. Jayne will continue directing our pre- and post-doctoral training programs, while expanding her CTSI-Ed responsibilities. She will partner with David, who has directed the core since 2015, in leading the core and maintaining its success. They’ve had an outstanding partnership and CTSI looks forward to their shared leadership of the core.

In addition, longtime CTSI-Ed staff members Michelle Lamere, MPA, ACC, and Megan Larson have received promotions.

Michelle, who has served as CTSI-Ed’s Assistant Director since its inception in 2011, has been promoted to CTSI-Ed’s Associate Director and will also start in a new CTSI-wide role as the Associate Director for CTSI’s DEI Catalytic Collaborative, to which she will dedicate about 30% of her time.

The DEI Catalytic Collaborative is a new structure that will collaborate with all CTSI cores and programs to build inclusive excellence and support internal structural transformation in the area of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Michelle will work closely with Ana Nuñez, MD, FACP, CTSI’s Integration Strategist and Catalytic Collaborative leader, and Jennifer Cieslak, EdM, CTSI Chief of Staff, on this work. More information to follow regarding this important new endeavor for CTSI.

Megan, who has been with CTSI-Ed since 2014, will assume the position of CTSI-Ed Operations Manager.

"CTSI-Ed has grown in size and complexity over the years, while maintaining a sterling reputation for supporting the career advancement of the next generation of biomedical scientists and leaders," said Bruce Blazar, MD, CTSI Director, and Daniel Weisdorf, MD, CTSI's Deputy Director and CTRS Director. "These latest changes position CTSI-Ed for continued success, advance the careers of dedicated team members, and expand our capacity to support diversity, equity, and inclusion." 

Jayne Fulkerson

Dr. Jayne Fulkerson

Dr. Jayne Fulkerson now co-leads CTSI-Ed with Dr. David Ingbar, and is the PI for our latest CTSA application’s T32 predoctoral and T32 postdoctoral training programs.

Since 2018, Jayne has led our TRACT TL1 program, which provides mentored research training to pre- and post-doctoral trainees through an individualized curriculum that focuses on professional development activities, collaboration, and communication with the larger community. She also leads our Translational Research Development Program (TRDP), which helps early-stage investigators gain experience with clinical and translational research.

Jayne is a Professor in the University of Minnesota's School of Nursing and an Affiliate Professor in the Division of Epidemiology in the School of Public Health. She also serves as the Director of the Center for Child and Family Health Promotion Research. Her research interests include family-based health promotion in community settings; child and adolescent obesity prevention, particularly through the home food environment and family meals; research methodology, program evaluation, measurement, and instrument development.

Jayne holds a PhD in psychology from the University of Minnesota, an MA in psychology from San Diego State University, and a BA in child psychology from the University of Minnesota.

David Ingbar

Dr. David Ingbar

Dr. David Ingbar co-leads the Research Education, Career Development and Training Core (CTSI-Ed) with Dr. Jayne Fulkerson.

Since 2015, David has directed CTSI-Ed, which provides training and education to advance researchers through the career development continuum through mentorship, educational opportunities, and by working to enhance faculty rewards and recognition. He is the PI of CTSI’s current KL2 grant and upcoming K12 grant that supports early-stage, translational science research-oriented faculty. David is Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Mentoring in the Medical School's Office of Faculty Affairs, a Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota with joint appointments in Pediatrics and Integrative Biology & Physiology, and served as Director of the Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care & Sleep Division for more than twenty years. Prior to becoming a CTSI Associate Director, he served as Director of the K Scholar Multidisciplinary Seminar Series and led CTSI faculty scholar progress evaluations.

David received his MD from Harvard Medical School, and was an Internal Medicine Resident and Chief Resident at the University of Washington before completing his Pulmonary & Critical Care fellowship at Yale University and joining the Yale faculty. He is a physician scientist who focuses on understanding how the lung is repaired after injury and how this compares to lung development. He currently serves on NHLBI Council and is Past President of the American Thoracic Society and a member of the ABIM Pulmonary Board.

Michelle Lamere

Michelle Lamere

Michelle Lamere has been promoted to Associate Director for CTSI-Ed. She will also start in a new role as the Associate Director for CTSI’s DEI Catalytic Collaborative. 

Michelle helped establish the core in 2011 and operationally led CTSI-Ed as Assistant Director for 12 years. During her time in CTSI, over 400 scholars have received awards across seven career development programs. She got her start in developing the careers of scientists with the Minnesota Craniofacial Research Training Program T32 in 2007. 

Her expertise in leadership and resilience has uniquely contributed to the development of several innovative programs. Michelle also brings over a decade of experience developing programs that recruit, retain, and nurture the careers of scientists from backgrounds underrepresented in health science research, including the Pathways to Research Program (PReP), the Pre-K Discovery Scholars Program, Mothers Leading Science, and the Early Career Research Award (ECRA).

Michelle is a member of the graduate faculty for the Earl E. Bakken Center for Spirituality & Healing and holds a Master of Public Affairs from the Humphrey School Public Affairs with an emphasis in policy and leadership. She obtained a graduate minor in integrative therapies and alternative healing practices with a focus on resilience, which included studying at the Dalai Lama's Medical Research Institute in Dharamsala, India. She is a certified executive coach and specializes in developing transformational leaders in the health sciences.

Megan Larson

Megan Larson

Megan Larson serves as Operations Manager for CTSI-Ed. Megan joined the core in 2014 and served as a Program Manager before being named Operations Manager. 

Megan oversees CTSI-Ed staff and day-to-day core management and facilitates collaboration with other CTSI teams. She provides operational leadership for the core and is part of the strategic leadership of CTSI-Ed that works with CTSI-Ed faculty program directors to deliver translational science training, career development, and research opportunities. 

She is the administrative driving force behind CTSI’s component of ECRA (a collaborative program with the Medical School), Pre-K, and KL2 faculty development programs, providing administrative oversight for 30 junior faculty scholars.  She currently serves on the Board of the Association for Clinical and Translational Science’s Research Education Professionals Special Interest Group (SIG).

Megan began her career in social work and news media before shifting to higher education in 2011. She worked at the Collaborative Center for Health Equity at the University of Wisconsin-Madison prior to joining CTSI, supporting efforts to improve health equity in underserved communities of Wisconsin.