Dr. Lynn Eberly and Award Plaque

Dr. Lynn Eberly Named Inaugural CTSI Biostatistician Mentor of the Year

At the CTSI Poster Session on Jan. 20, CTSI honored University of Minnesota Associate Professor Lynn Eberly, MS, PhD, with the first CTSI Biostatistician Mentor of the Year Award, which recognizes outstanding biostatistical mentors.

The event -- which coincides with National Mentoring Month – also recognized Dr. James Cloyd as 2015 Mentor of the Year (shown below) and Dr. Rebecca Shlafer as 2015 Junior Mentor of the Year.

“This award further demonstrates CTSI’s commitment to creating a culture of mentoring,” says David Ingbar, MD, Medical School Professor and CTSI Associate Director, Research Education, Training, and Career Development. CTSI has also developed an online mentoring module for research mentors, and requires a mentoring team for every scholar funded through its career development programs.

Dr. Eberly is an internationally recognized statistician with the School of Public Health’s Division of Biostatistics who’s funded on numerous NIH projects. She has been working with clinical research and biomarker investigations throughout her career, with current foci in neurodegenerative diseases, psychiatry, and diabetes, in particular in studies using medical imaging.

“Mentees praised Dr. Eberly for her keen intellect, dedication, patience, thoughtfulness, and ability to help her mentees become successful independent researchers,” Anne Marie Weber-Main, PhD, Medical School Associate Professor and CTSI Co-director of Mentoring told attendees at Wednesday’s event. 

Following are excerpts from letters nominating Dr. Eberly for this award:

Congratulations, Dr. Eberly!