Inaugural Cohort

Inaugural cohort of faculty, academic leaders join CTSI’s Northern LITeS leadership training program promoting team science

CTSI welcomes 28 faculty and academic leaders from across the health sciences to the Northern LITeS: Leadership for Innovative Team Science program that aims to further leadership skills and promote team science among senior faculty.

The structured year-long leadership training experience provides executive-level training and is tailored to the needs of experienced academics in biomedical, clinical, and health-related sciences. The program fosters team functions, expands opportunities for cross-disciplinary collaboration, and enhances leadership skills.

The Northern LITeS program is managed by CTSI’s Research Education, Training, and Career Development team and the Vice President for Clinical Affairs, and is the first sister site of the highly successful University of Colorado LITeS program.

“CTSI’s Northern LITeS program is customized to help increase multidisciplinary team science research activity, senior faculty interactions across multiple schools, and funding across the health sciences,” said David Ingbar, MD, Director of CTSI’s Research Education, Training, and Career Development team, and Director of the Northern LITeS program.

Participants are divided into four teams that are constructed so new working relationships are created. The groups meet for four 2-day sessions over the course of the next year and work on a team project that addresses a real clinical or translational problem identified by University of Minnesota leadership.

Congratulations to the inaugural cohort of participants who are senior or advanced mid-career faculty and academic leaders involved in clinical or translational research and/or academic leadership.

Timothy Beebe, PhD
Mayo Professor and Division Head, Division of Health Policy and Management, School of Public Health

Anja Bielinsky, PhD
Associate Dean, Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine

Angela Birnbaum, PhD, FAES
Professor, College of Pharmacy

Anne Blaes, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Hematology, Oncology and Transplantation division, Medical School

Iris Borowsky, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Medical School

Sonya Brady, PhD
Associate Professor, School of Public Health

Claudia Cohn, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, Medical School

Simone French, PhD
Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, School of Public Health

Steven Fu, MD, MSCE
Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Medical School and Director, Center for Care Delivery and Outcomes Research, Minneapolis VA Health Care System

R. Stephanie Huang, PhD
Associate Professor, College of Pharmacy

Sayeed Ikramuddin, MD, MHA
Chair and Professor, Department of Surgery, Medical School

Ajay Israni, MD, MS
Professor of Medicine, Hennepin Healthcare, and Acting President of Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute

Kristen Jacklin, PhD
Professor, Department of Family Medicine and Biobehavioral Health and Associate Director, Memory Keepers Medical Discovery Team, University of Minnesota Medical School Duluth

Ling Li, PhD
Professor and Associate Department Head, College of Pharmacy

Paul Mermelstein, PhD
Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Medical School

James Miner, MD
Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Hennepin Healthcare

Karen Monsen, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAMIA
Associate Professor, School of Nursing

Daniel Mueller, MD
Professor of Medicine, and Director, Rheumatic and Autoimmune Diseases division, Medical School

Patrick Nachman, MD
Professor of Medicine, Director, Division of Renal Diseases and Hypertension division, Medical School

Angela Panoskaltsis-Mortari, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Department of Pediatrics and Medicine, Medical School

Professor of Medicine, Medical School

Brian Sick, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine, Director, Director, General Internal Medicine division, Medical School

Renee Sieving, PhD, RN, FAAN, FSAHM
Professor and Director, Center for Adolescent Nursing, School of Nursing

David Stenehjem, PharmD, BCOP
Associate Professor and Associate Department Head, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy Duluth

Stephanie Terezakis, MD
Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology, Medical School

Diane Treat-Jacobson, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, School of Nursing

Christine Wendt, MD
Professor of Medicine, Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine division, Department of Medicine, University of Minnesota Medical School and Section Chief of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine at the Minneapolis VA Health Care System

Sarah Westberg, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS
Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems and Co-Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, College of Pharmacy