People at the CTSI Poster Session
Picture (L to R): Ashley Johnson, URP Scholar; Ran Blekhman, Assistant Professor, UMN; Jean Wyman, Professor; and Hyunjoon Kim, ARP Scholar.

Four CTSI Scholars receive travel awards for outstanding posters

Last week, CTSI awarded four young researchers with travel awards so they can present their research at a national or international conference of their choice. 

The winners are scholars in CTSI career development programs for students interested in research: the Undergraduate Research Program and the Advanced Research Program.  

Kathryn Thomas; Dr. Kelvin Lim; and Kim Hyunjoon.
Pictured (L to R): Kathryn Thomas; Dr. Kelvin Lim; and Kim Hyunjoon. 

Scholars presented their research projects at a Sept. 17 reception for CTSI scholars and mentors. Posters were evaluated based on presenters' translational plans, including their project’s next steps, barriers to translation, and how the project will ultimately contribute to improving human health. Winners received $1,500 each. 

Please join us in congratulating this year's winners:

Jace Gilbertson
Undergraduate Research Program
School of Nursing, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Andrew Barnes, MD, MPH

Jace Gilbertson; Dr. Kelvin Lim; and Dung (Jessica) Pham.
Pictured (L to R): Jace Gilbertson; Dr. Kelvin Lim; and Dung (Jessica) Pham. 

Hyunjoon Kim
Advanced Research Program
College of Pharmacy, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Thomas Griffith, PhD

Dung (Jessica) Pham
Undergraduate Research Program
College of Liberal Arts, Macalester College
Mentor: Kathryn Cullen, MD

Kathryn Thomas
Advanced Research Program
Medical School, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Paul Iaizzo, PhD