Neelam Chandiramani, PHDR, Megan Larson, CTSI-Ed, Hani Abdi, PReP Scholar, and Jocelyn Ricard, PReP Scholar, stand together in front of a poster at a past Poster Session event
From left to right: Neelam Chandiramani, PHDR, Megan Larson, CTSI-Ed, Hani Abdi, PReP Scholar, and Jocelyn Ricard, PReP Scholar, at a past Poster Session event

Eighteen Scholars join CTSI’s summer research training programs

CTSI welcomes 18 undergraduate and professional health science students to the 2021 summer research training programs

Scholars will receive training and mentorship in translational research while completing a structured core curriculum.

Congratulations to our new Scholars!

A-PReP Scholars

The Advanced Pathways to Research Program (A-PReP) is designed for professional and early-predoctoral health sciences students with an interest in clinical or translational research.

Rejowana Rouf, Medical School
Mentor: Chetan Shenoy, MBBS, MS

Srilakshmi (Prasanna) Vankina, Medical School
Mentor: Anne Blaes, MD

Lucas Kosobuski, College of Pharmacy
Mentor: Laura Palombi, PharmD, MPH, MAT, AE-C

Jessica Barry, College of Pharmacy
Mentor: Angela Birnbaum, PhD, FAES

Katherine Carosella, College of Liberal Arts
Mentor: Kathryn Cullen, MD

Victor Corral, Medical School
Mentor: Hai Dang Nguyen, PhD

Xintian Lyu, College of Pharmacy
Mentor: Ilo Leppik, MD

Jacquelyn Sertic, College of Education and Human Development
Mentor: Jürgen Konczak, PhD

Chowdhury (Tasnova) Tahsin, Medical School
Mentor: Manda Keller-Ross, PhD, DPT, PT

Weijie Zhang, University of Minnesota Rochester - Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Mentor: R Stephanie Huang, PhD

PReP Scholars

The Pathways to Research Program (PReP) provides an opportunity to start or advance one’s research career for students who are enrolled at colleges and universities in Minnesota.

Hossam Halaweish, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Christopher Staley, PhD

Salma Ibrahim, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Bonnie Klimes-Dougan, PhD

Nathan Keller, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Claire Kamp Dush, PhD

Francine Legba, Carleton College
Mentor: Sandra Safo, PhD, MSc

Daniel Mansour, University of Minnesota
Mentor: Beshay Zordoky, PhD, MSc

Aisha Mohamed, Macalester College
Mentor: Steve Fu, MD, MSCE

Anthony Ruiz, Bemidji State University
Mentor: Melissa Horning, PhD, RN, PHN

Zuani Ventura, Augsburg University
Mentor: Christen Eben, MD, MPH