2019 cohort

CTSI’s K-R01 research career development program welcomes four Scholars to the 2019 cohort

CTSI welcomes four University of Minnesota Assistant Professors into its K-R01 Transition to Independence research career development program. Scholars receive pilot funds, specialized career development programming, mentoring, and dedicated support throughout the two-year program. The award period begins on November 1, 2019.

Congratulations to the 2019 cohort!

Casey Johnson, Melanie Nicol, Alexa Pragman, Beshay Zordoky

Casey P. Johnson, PhD
Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Mentors: Cathy S. Carlson, Baolin Wu, Gregory Metzger
Project Title: Advanced Quantitative MRI Methods for Early Detection and Monitoring of Avascular Necrosis of the Femoral Head

Melanie Nicol, PharmD, PhD
Department of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology
Mentors: Paul R. Bohjanen, James S. Hodges
Project Title: The role of inflammation in antiretroviral concentrations in genital and central nervous system compartments

Alexa Pragman, MD, PhD
Department of Medicine
Mentors: Chris Wendt, Cavan Reilly
Project Title: Chronic respiratory symptoms and microbiota alterations following high-risk exposures

Beshay Zordoky, MSc, PhD
Department of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology
Mentors: Pamala Jacobson, Alessandro Bartolomucci, Kendall Wallace, Esam El Fakahany, Haitao Chu
Project Title: Hypertension Exacerbates Doxorubicin-induced Vascular Aging

The K-R01 program is available to junior faculty with federal K awards (or K equivalents), conducting clinical or translational research at the University and aims to place investigators further on the path to being competitive for National Institutes of Health (NIH) Research Project Grant (R01) awards and R01-equivalent funding. The program is Directed by Esam El-Fakahany, PhD, College of Pharmacy, and is administered by CTSI’s Research Education, Training, and Career Development (CTSI-Ed) core.

Current and former Scholars of the program include: Jason Baker, MD, MS, Department of Medicine, Melena Bellin, MD, Department of Pediatrics, Department of Surgery, Maneesh Bhargava, MD, Department of Medicine, Cari Clark, ScD, Medical School, Kathryn Cullen, MD, Department of Psychiatry, Paul Drawz, MD, Department of Medicine, Allyson Hart, MD, MS, Hennepin Healthcare and Department of Medicine, Theresa Laguna, MD, MSCS, Department of Pediatrics, Julie Ostrander, PhD, Department of Medicine, Lynda Polgreen, MD, MS, Department of Pediatrics, Karina Quevedo, PhD, Department of Psychiatry, Zohar Sachs, MD, PhD, Department of Medicine, Kristine Talley, PhD, RN, GNP-BC, School of Nursing, and Deanna Teoh, MD, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Women's Health.

To learn more about all of CTSI’s career development programs, visit the Career Development Programs page, or contact [email protected].