bright light

CTSI honors sixteen travel awardees during 2020 Poster Session

The 2020 CTSI Poster Session honored mentors, Scholars, and community-engaged research grantees supported by two CTSI offices: the Research Education, Training, and Career Development core (CTSI-Ed) and the Community Engagement to Advance Research and Community Health core (CEARCH). 

Community and scientific judges engaged with Scholar presentations and posters before and during the event. The new, virtual format created breakout “rooms” for each presenter, with dedicated time for attendees to interact with presenters in real time.

The judging sessions culminated in an awards ceremony to honor the 2020 Mentors of the Year as well as sixteen poster awardees. Thirteen CTSI-Ed Scholars, one BIRCWH Scholar, and two CEARCH-supported community grantees were selected to receive awards for their outstanding presentations, posters, and research. 

Congratulations to all our awardees!

K-R01 Transition to Independence program Travel Award winners

Casey Johnson

Casey P. Johnson, PhD, Assistant Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine

Project title: Advanced quantitative MRI methods for early detection and monitoring of avascular necrosis of the femoral head

Beshay Zordoky

Beshay Zordoky, MSc, PhD, Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy

Project title: Hypertension exacerbates doxorubicin-induced vascular aging

KL2 Career Development program Travel Award winners


Christen Ebens, MD, MPH, AB, Assistant Professor, Pediatric Blood and Marrow Transplant

Project title: Epidermolysis Bullosa: Characterizing and targeting immune dysfunction

Rene Pierpnt

Rene Pierpont, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pediatrics  

Project title: Early detection of white matter disease in X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy

Sandra Safo

Sandra Safo, PhD, MSc, Assistant Professor, Division of Biostatistics  

Project title: Integrative omics methods to assess genomic and metabolic influences on subclinical CVD in HIV-infected men and women

Pre-K Discovery Scholars program Travel Award winner

Stefani Thomas

Stefani Thomas, PhD, Assistant Professor, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology

Project title: Proteome-level predictors of improved response to PARP inhibitor therapy in ovarian cancer

Translational Research and Career Training and Translational Research Development program Travel Award winners

Rebecca Brown

Rebecca Brown, RN, PhD Candidate, School of Nursing

Project title: Development of predictive screening tool for patient-reported symptom clusters for artery disease

Zachary Galliger

Zachary Galliger, PhD Candidate, Biomedical Engineering, CSE

Project title: 3-D bioprinted human tracheal graft for pediatric trachea reconstruction in a rabbit model

Rebekah Summers

Rebekah Summers, PT, DPT, PhD, Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Neurology, Medical School

Project title: Could changes in brain structure or function predict the onset of Parkinson’s disease?

Advanced Pathways to Research program Travel Award winners

Shray Malik

Shray Malik, Medical Student, Medical School
Mentor: Chetan Shenoy

Project title: Sex differences in patients with suspected cardiac sarcoidosis

Andrea Wiglesworth

Andrea Wiglesworth, PhD Student, Clinical and Psychopathology Research Program, College of Liberal Arts
Mentor: Kathryn Cullen

Project title: Default mode and salience networks in 9- and 10-year-olds with and without suicidal ideation

Pathways to Research program Travel Award winners

Alexa Carrera

Alexa Carrera, Augsburg University, Biology Program
Mentor: Beshay Zordoky

Project title: CYP1B1 as a therapeutic target in cardio-oncology: The emerging role of phytochemicals

Nicolas Diaz de Leon

Nicolas Diaz de Leon, Macalester College, College of Liberal Arts
Mentor: Colum MacKinnon

Project title: Impact of cognitive deficits upon gait performance in Parkinson’s Disease

Building Interdisciplinary Research Careers in Women's Health program Award winner

Britt Erickson

Britt Erickson, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women’s Health, Medical School

Project title: Human epidermal growth factor 2 (HER2) In early stage uterine serous carcinoma: A multi-institutional cohort study

CEARCH Recognition Award winners

Katherine Dooley

Katharine Dooley, Epidemiology MPH Student, School of Public Health

Project title: Recovery in Northeastern Minnesota: The results of a needs assessment

Janna Gerwirtz O'Brien

Janna Gewirtz O’Brien, MD, Adolescent Medicine Fellow, LEAH Program, MPH Student, School of Public Health

Project title: Empowering Parents for Wellness in Shelter (EMPOWER): Feasibility and acceptability of a shelter-based health empowerment program for pregnant and parenting homeless youth