12 CTSI-supported research projects receive travel awards

The Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI) recognized 12 researchers for having outstanding posters and presentations at the third annual CTSI Poster Session & Reception held on September 15. More than 150 people attended the event, including a group of Shattuck-St. Mary's students who are working closely with the poster presenters on a class project.

Judges evaluated more than 50 posters, and selected winners from each CTSI career development program as well as from the Community Collaborative grants program. CTSI will provide as much as $17,500 total in travel expenses so awardees can present their CTSI-supported research at a national or international conference.

Please join us in congratulating the 2014 travel award recipients!

Undergraduate Research Program (URP)

Samantha Carlson, School of Public Health
Stephanie Duong, Macalester College

Advanced Research Program (ARP)

David Matson, Medical School
Benjamin Otopalik, Medical School
Kinjal Sanghavi, College of Pharmacy

Translational Research Development Program (TRDP)

Alexa Weingarden, Medical School

New Investigator Pre-K Career Development Program

Stephanie Misono, Department of Otolaryngology, Medical School

KL2 Scholars Career Development Program

Ann Parr, Neurosurgery Department, Medical School
Guisheng Song, Department of Medicine, Medical School

K to R01 Transition to Independence Program

Melena Bellin, Department of Pediatrics, Medical School

R to R Pilot Grant

Robert Jones, Department of Development and Surgical Sciences, School of Dentistry

Community Collaborative grants program

Patricia Shannon, School of Social Work, College of Education and Human Development